Write for yourself

A blogger I follow a lot Opinionated Man wrote this and he writes a lot of interesting material. I think you should check out his blog.

Exert:

I wrote before that I “do not write for you.” I stand by that. I don’t write for any of you, I write what I feel like writing. Many of the topics I write on lose me a certain amount of followers each day. There are some that might say “well that is stupid, why would you write something that knowingly chases away a reader?” Because “I don’t write for you, I write for myself.” I pick subjects that I like, find amusing, or see other people ranting on and decide to care about them as well.

My blogging is different. I blog for an audience and ALWAYS have. My goal has always been to create a large blog and I have never tried to make that a secret. Blogging is therefore about an audience for me, but the writing portion I keep pure by still doing me. That should be obvious by now.

 

I Agree

I think there is so much material that people throw out there to attract a larger audience, to get on the Freshly Pressed page. But that is never my goal, I quite frankly get flattered with every like, comment or follower I get. I don’t know what they see in my posts or what they are looking for.

I write and post what makes me happy, mostly it’s what pops into my head and what I am interested in. If I could give one piece of advice it would be as the title says Write for Yourself. Whether it be for therapy, self heeling or just because you have nothing else to do.

 

Don’t be offended

If I comment on something you have posted, don’t be offended. I have an opinion about some things and some things I feel strongly about. For instance Homelessness, unemployment and finances are top of my priority at the moment.

WHY? Because I have been there. Up until last December I was sleeping rough in a baby changing facility on the coast of England. I have since not been able to get into employment. I have a gap of a year, where I was homeless and had no money and no prospects for work.

So when I see blog posts about people saying it looks like it might soon be a problem, (It outrages me) because it is already a major problem.

A 2008 article by David C. Wheelock, an economist at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, cited
anual reports issued by the Federal Home Loan Bank Board during the 1930s. These reports reveal thatthe foreclosure rate exceeded 1 percent from 1931 until 1935. At the worst point in the
Depression-era economic crisis, in 1933, about 1,000 home loans were being placed in foreclosure by banks every day.

RealtyTrac notes (via North Carolina State University) that:

From January 2007 to December 2011 there were more than four million completed foreclosures and more than 8.2 million foreclosure starts ….

CoreLogic reported a year ago:

Approximately 1.4 million homes, or 3.4 percent of all homes with a mortgage, were in the national foreclosure inventory as of May 2012 compared to 1.5 million, or 3.5 percent, in May 2011 and 1.4 million, or 3.4 percent, in April 2012. The foreclosure inventory is the share of all mortgaged homes in some stage of the foreclosure process.

 

That is a lot of people being evicted and having their homes taken away. Yet some people are on blogs, facebook etc talking about how lazy these people are who don’t want to work. I’m sorry but everyone would want to work, rather than loose their homes. The problem is most jobs now only employ temps and the working poor.

 

Working Poor!

People holding down jobs that don’t pay enough to put food on the table, provide electricity, gas and other necessities. I admit I have had to use Food Banks, it’s not what I ever thought I would ever need. But, I don’t have enough money to buy food and put the heating on.

My partner and I use blankets to wrap up, because our heating is Electric. It takes 20kw all-in to heat them. At 28p per kwh to have the heating on for a single hour which wouldn’t even begin to warm them up would cost £5.60. We just can’t afford it!

 

We are at crisis point, and it’s the same everywhere in the world.

Leave a Reply

