Fear

Image

 

Wiki Definition:

Fear is an emotion induced by a perceived threat which causes entities to quickly pull far away from it and usually hide. It is a basic survival mechanism occurring in response to a specific stimulus which is perceived as a risk of significant loss of health, wealth, status, power, security or of anything held valuable. In short, fear is a motivating force arising from the ability to recognize danger leading to an urge to confront it or flee from it (also known as the fight-or-flight response) but in extreme cases of fear (horror and terror) a freeze or paralysis response is possible.

 

Why I am afraid:

A few years ago I felt sorry for a gentleman who was about to be made homeless. He was a friend of a friend and so I had a spare room and offered him to stay with me. Chipping in with bills etc.

It went OK for the first month, it was good to have someone to talk to and help out financially. But then it went sour, really quickly. It ended with said gentleman pulling a kitchen knife, punching through a door and slashing wildly at me with said knife. The neighbour next door heard me screaming and fighting him off. She called he police and he was removed.

I was completely shook up, I went to stay with my grandparents. It turns out the police had only put him on a bus and he’d gotten off a few stops later and returned to my house.

He then started showing up outside my grandparents house, he left a picture of my sisters he’d stolen on my mothers car window with their eyes burned out.

 

MY FEAR:

My fear in this regard takes many forms, I get panic attacks when someone knocks on the door. I haven’t stepped foot in Newcastle where the guy is from since 2006.

Whenever someone comes up to me, I skip straight to flight and want to get the hell out of there. I know these things are irrational, but I can’t get past them.

I go into panic mode, my breath catches in my throat and I get paralysed!

Leave a Reply

