What sexuality are you?

The pre described definition of sexuality is thus: (taken from Wikipedia)

Sexual orientation is an enduring personal quality that inclines people to feel romantic or sexual attraction (or a combination of these) to persons of the opposite sex or gender, the same sex or gender, or to both sexes or more than one gender. These attractions are generally subsumed under heterosexualityhomosexuality, and bisexuality, while asexuality (the lack of romantic or sexual attraction to others) is sometimes identified as the fourth category. These categories are aspects of the more nuanced nature of sexual identity. For example, people may use other labels, such as pansexual or polysexual, or none at all. According to the American Psychological Association, sexual orientation “also refers to a person’s sense of identity based on those attractions, related behaviours, and membership in a community of others who share those attractions”.

What causes sexuality?

Biology has been questioned including genetics, prenatal hormones and brain structure have all been linked to a persons (born sexuality).

Environment is starting to be investigated as a possible secondary cause of sexuality including: childhood non conformity, family influences, fraternal birth order, city of origin, cultural influence, and lastly a history of sexual abuse.

Lastly Peer Influence has also been speculated to as another possible cause.

As a last word from science: A variety of theories about the influences on sexual orientation have been proposed. Sexual orientation probably is not determined by any one factor but by a combination of genetic, hormonal, and environmental influences. In recent decades, biologically based theories have been favored by experts. Although there continues to be controversy and uncertainty as to the genesis of the variety of human sexual orientations, there is no scientific evidence that abnormal parenting, sexual abuse, or other adverse life events influence sexual orientation. Current knowledge suggests that sexual orientation is usually established during early childhood.

Back to the question, “What sexuality are You?”

Personally I would say that I find both men and women very nice to look at. I do often look at both and fancy a particular person for the way they look or dress. My personal preference on sexuality is that I am Pansexual. I do not see the sex of the person, rather the person themselves.

16 thoughts on “What sexuality are you?

  1. I’d call myself a bisexual despite I have preference towards women in general. I don’t really care much about the gender though-I give them a chance and it’s up to them if they’d make the most of it.
    As for checking out-let’s be honest: who doesn’t like seeing a hot person walking down the street?

  2. In one sense I would think myself as straight and in another sense asexual. But the strongest is of course the opposite sex.

  3. Nope nope nope. Sexual orientation does not describe sexual and romantic attractions. Romantic orientation is a whole separate deal. Of course, for most people, the two orientations point toward the same gender(s), so most allosexual people never think to make the distinction. But to define sexual orientation in terms of romantic attraction is inaccurate. The definition of asexuality provided here is also inaccurate. Asexuals do not experience sexual attraction. There are heteroromantic asexuals, homoromantic asexuals, biromantic asexuals, aromantic asexuals, etc. Some asexuals experience romantic attraction and some don’t.

    • Then you need to take that up with wiki where the definition was taken from.

      • In the mean time, I’m going to take it up with you.

      • You can.

      • I can what?

        It seems like a pretty straightforward idea to me, so I’m not sure what part of it you’re skeptical of or are resisting. Perhaps you’re not sure how people arrived at this model or how it’s useful. Perhaps you’re skeptical of the idea that romantic attraction and sexual attraction are different feelings. Perhaps you’re skeptical of the idea that you can be romantically attracted to genders that you’re not sexually attracted to. I don’t know where to start if I don’t know what your objections are. Perhaps it’s even simply ideological inertia.

      • I don’t have objections and aren’t skeptical. I’m just not interested really.

        I get for you this is a huge campaign by reading some of your blog and about you. For me it was a post I wrote, that’s all.

      • A… huge… campaign? …Well, that’s one way to characterize it.

        I just want you to edit the post so that it won’t be inaccurate anymore. Doing that wouldn’t require expending any more effort than is required by writing reply comments.

      • It’s my blog so no I wont amend it, Feel free to not come back if you dont like what I post.

      • I don’t understand. Is it that you think the current version is sufficiently accurate, or that you don’t care about spreading inaccurate information?

      • You can not understand all you like. It is my blog, I have told you to take your issue up with wiki where I copied the introduction to that post from.

        You state it is wrong and that I am spreading inaccurate information. Then you need to get off your backside and take it up with the people who are also spreading inaccurate information.

        Trust me, more people will be seeing the incorrect information from the wiki article, than come to my little blog here.

  4. If you read closely it says feel romantic or sexual attraction or a combo of both…it’s not inaccurate information…

  5. also asexuality can be exactly as it’s stated on here as well and who really cares about the technicalities…again it’s not inaccurate and he has the right to have his blog however he wants if you don’t like it you can unfollow him im sure he’s not going to mind….in short get over it.

Leave a Reply

