Eerie silence

Sat in the house and there is an uneasy silence. It feels as if this is the eye of the hurricane, the quiet before the storm. There is an uneasy peace and quiet that seems to permeate the skin and run through you like icy fingers.

Have you ever felt the sense that everything in your vicinity could explode at any second? Willing something to end the silence and break the tension.

When they lay me down to sleep, I imagine the silence will follow me, will caress my skin and kiss me leaving me oddly still. The embrace of a long lost love, the mother kissing her babe as it sleeps unknowing the world is about to change.

Leave a Reply

